Cathy Malmrose

CEO of ZaReason, a sweet little Linux hardware builder in Berkeley, CA

GTD for Late Night People who love what they do

Posted by cathymalmrose on June 23, 2009

I love Getting Things Done. My brother told me about it several years ago. It shifted how I work. For the better. Much better.

My current finding — I have a hard time cutting off work at night. I can get into the zone at night and work like a hamster on an exercise wheel until the early (or late) AM. It’s not good in the long-run. It’s not even good for the next day.

So, I needed a way to cut off my work flow at night, to tourniquet it so that I could leave work at a reasonable hour, allowing for a good night’s sleep.

I think I figured out a way that works for me. Since I work mostly on my laptop, I set up my laptop in a comfy room, not my office and get some work done. When the battery dies, I have to stand up. When I stand up, my body says, “Whoa! Zelda! You shouldn’t be awake this late!”

And I put my laptop back where it belongs and toddle off, on my way as I should.

Problem solved!

Now I just need to be careful to never, never put a charger near my favorite working spots.

One Response to “GTD for Late Night People who love what they do”

  1. Dan said

    Great idea.

    If you’d like a tool for managing your time and projects, you can use this application inspired by David Allen’s GTD:

    http://www.Gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage and prioritize your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.
    A mobile version is available too.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

